Select Page

The five-man shortlist of Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Naby Keita, Sadio Mane, Victor Moses and Mohamed Salah has been revealed and voting for the BBC African Footballer of the Year 2017 is now open.

Here, BBC Sport profiles the men in the running for the honour:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Gabon and Borussia Dortmund

African Footballer of the Year 2017: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang profile

Not once in the long history of the Bundesliga had an African ever topped the league’s scoring charts outright until Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang hit 31 goals in 2016-17.

The tally not only enabled the Gabon international to eclipse the feats of Ghanaian Tony Yeboah, who twice finished joint top scorer in the 1990s, but also become only the fourth man to net over 30 goals in Germany’s top flight – and the first in 40 years.

Equally impressive was the fact the Dortmund star’s 31 goals came from just 32 games, as a player with blistering pace and a poacher’s nose earned his place in the Bundesliga’s team of the year for the second year running.

A Champions League hat-trick against Benfica in March helped him to hit 40 goals overall, one of which won the German Cup final as Dortmund beat Eintracht Frankfurt 2-1.

Aubameyang’s form was so good he was nominated for Fifa’s Best Player of the Year award